Jump to content


Photo

A fix for the LPI and Vista


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2048 posts

Posted 01 February 2008 - 11:57 AM

It seems when you instal the imager on vista, Vista renames the camera.
That is why Vista wont recognize the LPI.
Some one has done a lot of research on it and has come up with a detailed fix.

It seems that no matter what Meade does Vista re names the imager for us.

Here is the link for a fix.
Do this at your own risk if you dont know how to edit your registry!!!!!!
Meade or Myself do not take any responsibilitys for this fix.

Regards

Mark

http://autostarsuite...read/15028.aspx
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#2 Dave

Dave

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts

Posted 02 February 2008 - 07:33 AM

Thanks for this Mark, I'm going to give this a try.

Do you know if Meade have any future plans for the LPI or if there will be an LPI II?

#3 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2048 posts

Posted 02 February 2008 - 08:05 AM

Dave.
Im not sure where things are on the LPI.
I think they still produce them but im not sure.
As for a LPI II only Meade knows this.
Its hard to say what will heppen in the future.

Regards

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#4 Dave

Dave

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts

Posted 02 February 2008 - 11:27 AM

Well it seems to work Mark.

I'll let you know for sure when I get a chance to try some imaging.

#5 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2048 posts

Posted 02 February 2008 - 02:38 PM

Dave,
Let me know for sure when you know.
If it is a good fix ill pin the subject so it wont get lost.

Regards

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#6 Dave

Dave

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 01:28 AM

Will do Mark.

It could be a while though as we are not expecting any good weather soon.

#7 gmennell

gmennell

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 09:39 AM

Absolute Genius!   This fix seems to work perfectly, I'd just like to know why Meade couldn't have done the research and come up with it months ago.  At last I can start to learn about imaging :)

#8 Dave

Dave

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 106 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 03:12 PM

Had a little spare time this afternoon so I gave the LPI a try on a terrestrial target and it worked very well.

I also tried my DSI c and my DSI pro III with the same Vista laptop, all seem to work just as well.

However, the Envisage software crashed twice.  I think both times the DSI c was connected.

It looks like I'll be using the XP laptop for the time being.

#9 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2048 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 07:35 PM

Im glad it is working.
I know Meade was trying to get a good fix for this but the API  was giving Vista fits.
Not many companys if any company will tell customers to do registry work.
As the Reg contains so much stuff would you want to be responsible for everyones PC?
It would be a big liability.
At least some one took the time to do this so the LPI can live again.
I have always wondered why Microsoft is so willing to break a working product.
I know if I have to replace one of my machines the first thing out of the box will be a reformat and XP installed.

Regards

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#10 alan_gigi

alan_gigi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 06:24 AM

I would like to know how you made it work "the LPI driver in windows vista"?

#11 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

    Advanced Member

  • Administrators
  • 2048 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 10:48 AM

Reade the top thread on this post.
It gives you directions for the fix.

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#12 Fish Cat Fish Dog

Fish Cat Fish Dog

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 17 March 2008 - 05:55 PM

Im glad it is working.
I know Meade was trying to get a good fix for this but the API  was giving Vista fits.
Not many companys if any company will tell customers to do registry work.
As the Reg contains so much stuff would you want to be responsible for everyones PC?
It would be a big liability.
At least some one took the time to do this so the LPI can live again.
I have always wondered why Microsoft is so willing to break a working product.
I know if I have to replace one of my machines the first thing out of the box will be a reformat and XP installed.



You will have to take Windows XP out of my Cold Dead Hands.  Thats why I am refurbishing my old laptops.




Mark




#13 cfbradshaw

cfbradshaw

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 23 March 2008 - 08:02 AM

Unfortunately, this fix did not work for me.  I have reinstalled the LPI driver several times and I can find the driver with no problem.  My problem is that installing the LPI driver gives an error and the LPI fails to install with my Vista version.  I only found two names in the registry to change and the name change did not work.  I guess that I'm stuck with using HandyAvi with the LPI. 

Otherwise, Vista has given me few problems and, after tuning the "services" to only what I needed, gives fast and reliable service. 

Regards,

Charlie

#14 Spacemanbob

Spacemanbob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 17 July 2008 - 03:27 PM

Unfortunately this does not work in Vista 64bit. I have tried all sorts of registry hacks and forum suggestions from around the net. Works in 32bit vista, but unfortunately my laptop came installed with 64bit vista.

#15 cfbradshaw

cfbradshaw

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 02:27 PM

I was trying to get guiding to work and discovered a way to make the LPI work in Vista.  I plugged in the LPI and, as usual, it thinks it is a Trust Webcam.  I then go to the device manager, select the Trust Webcam, and right click and update the driver.  When the update driver software screen appears, select "Browse my computer for driver software".  You will have two entries, Trust Webcam and LPI.  Selecte the LPI and it will try to install the driver and fail with "not enough memory".  Start Envisage and you should see that it now recognizes the LPI.  Apparently, the driver was installed even though the message said that the install failed.  I've tried this about 5 times and the procedure worked every time. 

If you don't see Meade LPI as one of the driver options, you likely need to point it at C:\Program Files\Meade\AutostarSuite\Envisage\Driver\2K - XP and try to install it.  Vista will say that the Trust Webcam driver is the best.  Repeat the procedure above.

Regards,

C Bradshaw

#16 Alicatt

Alicatt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 February 2009 - 04:33 AM

Any help on getting the LPI to work with Vista 64?
I have tried the solutions already posted here but can find no instance of "Trust Webcam 14823" just a reference to LPIdriver in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Meade\AutostarSuite\Envisage\Driver\LPIDriver.exe and I have tried running that under compatability mode too.
Sons of hounds,
come eat flesh
Clan Cameron

#17 bhautz

bhautz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 September 2009 - 06:39 PM

"@oem47.inf,%usbdevicedesc%;Trust Webcam 14823"  For some reason I cant change one of the registry enties. That is the entire I cant change. I'll get an. " Cannot edit Device Desc: Error writing values new contents"  Why?  What am I doung wrong.  Please help!
Thanks

#18 Ghostrider

Ghostrider

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 07:18 AM

My Vista Laptop doesn't find or install any drivers for the LPI at all.  Or for the Trust Webcam, even when I install them, and point to them while attempting to install drivers.

Ghostrider

#19 Russell

Russell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • LocationGulfport, MS.

Posted 04 October 2009 - 02:09 PM

Ghostrider,
  If your laptop is running Vista 64 bit, you are like me.  My understanding is that without a 64 bit driver for the LPI there is no way for it to work with the 64 bit version of Vista.  Fortunately I have an older laptop running XP to use until Meade develops a 64 bit driver.  No doubt it is just a matter of time before they do, for all computers will be 64 bit in the not too distant future.
Russell Hurlbert




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users