18 replies to this topic

#1 rrp1501

rrp1501

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationSardis, Ohio

Posted 27 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

I am BRAND new to Astronomy and have just bought my first telescope, a Meade DS-114 Digital telescope. The current owner said that this telescope has only one eyepiece with it. I was wondering if anybody could direct me to what type and where to get eyepieces for this telescope. I am a retired/disabled Military Veteran and finally have time to follow a dream I had as a kid! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
May God Bless you and Keep you!
Ramon Poisson

#2 MistrBadgr

MistrBadgr

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2017 posts
  • LocationBroken Arrow, Oklahoma

Posted 27 August 2012 - 06:41 PM

Hello! Welcome to Astronomy!

The optical tube itself is a good honest scope that should give you a lot of enjoyment, depending on its condition.

The first item to inspect is the focuser and the size of eyepiece that it will take. If the hole for the eyepiece is about one inch in diameter, then it will take 0.965 inch eyepieces. If this is the case, the first item on the agenda is to see if you can get a holder for 1.25 inch eyepieces. The selection of 0.965 eyepieces is mostly limited to very old designs that would most likely frustrate you. I would contact Telescope-Warehouse on eBay or just about any other of the secondary sellers of telescope things. Bill Vorce at Telescope-Warehouse also has a website at Telescope-Warehouse.com. Hopefully, he will have the part you need.

What I would recommend for this scope are plossle eyepieces? The Meade 4000 series super-plossles are what I use with scopes that are the caliber of the one you have. They are generally cheap enough for a beginner to purchase at least singly without too much heartburn, but are good enough to last a lifetime, if need be. There are nicer and fancier eyepieces out there, but these will get the job done with your telescope.