Photo

Will i notice a difference in the two telescopes?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 osubucki

osubucki

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 March 2007 - 08:29 AM

Im new to the telescope thing but i do know i want and need a better one than i have. I have a 60mm model 60az-a2 by meade. Im looking to get the  Newtonian Reflector 114mm (4.5") Meade 4.5" Telestar Telescope with AutoStar. Will i notice a difference in the two telescopes?

#2 Mark Sibole

Mark Sibole

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 2095 posts

Posted 23 March 2007 - 11:43 AM

You should notice a big difference between to two.
The new scope will give you more light gathering and more power and should give you crisper images.

Regards

Mark
Mark Sibole
MTSO Observatory
Fife Lake, Mi.

http://astronomy.qteaser.com

#3 twmiller123

twmiller123

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationSeekonk, MA

Posted 24 March 2007 - 06:57 AM

Yes, you will notice a difference. Objects will be brighter and you will see more detail in fainter regions of galaxies and nebulae. You will also be able to see fainter stars.

Buddy

#4 JimT

JimT

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 09:14 AM

To give you an idea of what to expect you will go from a limiting magnitude of about 10.5 to about 12. This equates to seeing stars and deep space objects (DSO’s) that are ~4 times dimmer. In addition the theoretical resolving power will go from about 2 seconds to about 1 second which results in your being able to see finer details in the moon, planets, and DSO’s as well as double stars.

Of course the actual performance is subject to you particular sky conditions but the increase will be apparent.

BTW, you might want to consider 6”.

Best of luck

JimT

#5 donwaid

donwaid

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 10:39 AM

Hi,

I have an article on my web site that you may find helpful.  It is on my "Articles" page and is titled "What Can I See in a Telescope".